ALDE Party Congress elects Hans van Baalen as new President

Hans van Baalen

Hans van Baalen MEP (VVD, The Netherlands) has been elected as the new President of the ALDE Party at the ALDE Party Congress in Budapest.

He succeeds Sir Graham Watson.

Hans van Baalen is currently a Member of the European Parliament for VVD since 2009.

Before, he was a Member of the House of Representatives in the Netherlands from 1999 to 2002 and from 2003 to 2009.

He was also the President of Liberal International between 2009 and 2014.

The newly elected Vice-Presidents are in alphabetical order: Timmy Dooley TD (Fianna Fail, Ireland), Fredrick Federley MEP (Center Party, Sweden), Ilhan Kyuchyuk MEP (MRF, Bulgaria), Markus Löning (FDP, Germany), Marta Pascal MP (CDC, Catalonia, Spain) and Baroness Ros Scott (Liberal Democrats, United Kingdom).

Follow us on Twitter updates at @ALDEParty and under the hashtags #ALDECongress and #ForFreedom.

You can also take a look at some photos of the ALDE Congress on ALDE Party's Flickr.