Liberal Transport Ministers discuss mobility package | ALDE Party

Liberal Transport Ministers discuss mobility package

Transport Pre-Council meeting in Brussels

On December 5, liberal Transport Ministers gathered in Brussels ahead of the Transport (TTE) Council meeting. This 4th ALDE Transport Pre-Council meeting was co-hosted by Kadri Simson, Estonia’s Minister of Economic Affairs and Infrastructure and representative of the Estonian EU Presidency, and chaired by ALDE Party Vice President Timmy Dooley TD. With five liberal Transport Ministers present, this event marked the largest ALDE Pre-Council meeting so far.

The ministers were joined by European Commissioner Violeta Bulc, as well as Vice Coordinator for the ALDE Group in the European Parliament’s Committee on Transport and Tourism Gesine Meißner MEP.

The ministers discussed the items on the Council agenda, including the progress of several proposals relating to market access and social aspects included in the First Mobility Package presented by the Commission in June.

Furthermore, the ministers shared their views on the issue of road charging and the proposed revision of the Eurovignette and European Electronic Toll Services directives, also included in the First Mobility Package. The ministers agreed that the legislation needs to respond to new challenges in the mobility sector, and highlighted points to be addressed as guidance for the Council’s future work on the proposals. 

List of participants

  • François Bellot, Minister of Mobility, Mouvement réformateur, Belgium

  • Anne Berner, Minister of Transport and Communications, Keskusta, Finland

  • Violeta Bulc, European Commissioner for Transport, SMC, Slovenia

  • Timmy Dooley, ALDE Vice President, Member of the Irish Parliament, Fianna Fáil, Ireland

  • Peter Gašperšič, Minister of Infrastructure, SMC, Slovenia

  • Gesine Meißner MEP, ALDE Group Coordinator of the Committee on Transport and Tourism, FDP, Germany

  • Kadri Simson, Minister of Economic Affairs and Infrastructure, Centre Party, Estonia

  • Dan Ťok, Minister for Transport, ANO, Czech Republic