Strong return of German Liberals to the Bundestag | ALDE Party

Strong return of German Liberals to the Bundestag

FDP leadership celebrating the results

On Sunday 24 September Germans went to the polls to elect a new Bundestag. ALDE member party FDP obtained 10.7% of the vote succeeding in making a strong return to the German Parliament as fourth force.

Reacting to the results of the German legislative elections, ALDE Party President Hans van Baalen MEP commented: “I am thrilled and delighted to see that the FDP are making a return to the Bundestag after gaining 10.7% of the vote in Sunday's Parliamentary elections. European liberal democrats welcome the return of liberal MPs to the Bundestag and we send our sincere congratulations to party leader Christian Lindner and the FDP for achieving the results their impressive campaign deserved.”

"The party has been on a long journey since the legislative elections of September 2013 and I am proud that the ALDE Party has been with them every step of the way."

"We look forward to working with leader Christian Lindner and his Parliamentary team who will pick up the proud traditions of the party and play a key role in the future direction and development of the country.”

Commenting on the triumphant comeback, FDP leader Christian Lindner said:"The past electoral period was the first without a liberal vote in Parliament, it was supposed to be the last one. There is now again a fraction of freedom in the Bundestag."

You can watch Christian Lindner's press conference following the announcement of the results here.

Meet here the 80 FDP MPs that will sit in the new Bundestag. Among them, our German 2016 European Women's Academy candidate Bettina Stark-Watzinger got elected as member of the Bundestag for the Land of Hesse. Congratulations on your election!

Many prominent European Liberals and Democrats, such as ALDE Group leader Guy Verhofstadt or Prime Ministers Xavier Bettel and Juha Sipila, openly congratulated FDP and Christian Lindner for their success in the elections.

You can read more about FDP's reaction to the results on FDP's website.