18 Jun, 2019

ALDE Group becomes Renew Europe

On Wednesday 12 June, national delegation leaders decided to rename the ALDE political group in the European Parliament to ‘Renew Europe’. The new name was inspired by the slogan used throughout the European elections campaign by the seven lead candidates forming Team Europe.

The new group – counting 108 MEPs from 22 countries – elected its new President and Vice-President during a constitutive meeting on Wednesday 19 June. The new President is Dacian Cioloș from Romania while Malik Azmani from the Netherlands was elected for the role of the First Vice-President.

The new Vice-Presidents of the Group are: Katalin Cseh (HU), Luis Garicano (ES), Martin Horwood (UK), Morten Lokkegaard (DK), Iskra Mihaylova (BG), Frédérique Ries (BE) and Dominique Riquet (FR).

You can follow Renew Europe in social media with @RenewEurope.

Our new group in the @Europarl_EN has chosen a new name: Renew Europe

We're stronger than ever & have the unique chance to shape Europe.

There is a lot of work ahead of us. We are inspired to build a free & fair Europe.


Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies