25 Jan, 2022

ALDE growth in Europe

The European liberal family increased its representation in national governments and and the European Parliament over the last 12 months.  

National Government

Liberals are represented in 16 national governments across Europe, both in and outside the European Union: Andorra, Belgium, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, North Macedonia, and Switzerland.

With a total of 73 ministers and 27 junior ministers, liberals are working on key policy issues to shape a more liberal Europe. ALDE Ministers hold a range of key portfolios including finance, digital, environment and energy, justice, defence, telecommunications, transport, and competitiveness.

  • Total Ministers and junior ministers (EU and non-EU): 100
  • Total Ministers and junior ministers EU: 89
  • Total Ministers non-EU: 11

Ministers and junior ministers from: 15 countries across Europe (EU and non-EU): Andorra (4), Belgium (5), Estonia (13), Finland (7), France (1), Germany (12), Gibraltar (3), Ireland (14), Italy (1), Latvia (4), Lithuania (5), Luxembourg (6), Netherlands (19), Northern Ireland (1), North Macedonia (1), and Switzerland (2)

European Parliament 

As January marked the second half of the current mandate of the European Parliament the election of a new European Parliament President, Vice Presidents, Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs were carried out. 

It was expected that Maltese politician Roberta Metsola (EPP) would succeed David Sassoli (S&D, Italy) as President of the European Parliament, even before his tragic death earlier this month.

European Parliament VPs

Three ALDE Party MEPs were elected European Parliament Vice-Presidents, out of 18 candidates. For Šimečka, this is an important milestone as he is the first European Parliament Vice-President from Slovakia. For European liberals, this also means an additional seat at the VPs table compared to the 2019-2021 period.

  • Dita Charanzová (ANO, CZ) (ALDE Vice-President)
  • Nicola Beer (FDP, DE)
  • Michal Šimečka (Progressive Slovakia, SK)

Europe  Parliament Committee

The following Renew Europe MEP's were elected as European Parliament Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs. 


Vice Chairs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.
Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies