10 Jan, 2022

ALDE Party members VVD & D66 hold key portfolios in new government

On Monday 10 January, a new Dutch government, led by Prime Minister Mark Rutte (VVD), was sworn in. The government consists of ALDE Party members VVD and D66 in coalition with Christian democratic parties CDA (Christian Democratic Appeal, EPP) and CU (Christian Union, EPP).

The new Ministers and State secretaries were sworn in by Dutch King Willem-Alexander in a hybrid ceremony, as some were quarantining following COVID-19 measures.

During his fourth consecutive term as Prime Minister, Mark Rutte will lead the first gender-balanced cabinet of the Netherlands. In addition to the Prime Minister’s seat, VVD also holds the portfolios of Justice and Security, Economic Affairs, Infrastructure as well as Asylum and Migration.

Leader of D66 and new Deputy Prime Minister Sigrid Kaag is the first woman to hold the role of Minister of Finance in the Netherlands. The party will also hold the portfolios of Climate and Energy, Education, Defence as well as Public Health.

The complete list of ALDE Party Ministers and State secretaries includes:


  • Mark Rutte: Minister President and Minister of General Affairs
  • Micky Adriaansens: Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate 
  • Mark Harbers: Minister of Infrastructure and Water State 
  • Dilan Yeşilgöz-Zegerius : Minister of Justice and Security
  • Conny Helder: Minister for Long-term Care and Sport 
  • Liesje Schreinemacher: Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation 
  • Christianne van der Wal: Minister for Nature and Nitrogen 
  • Dennis Wiersma: Minister for Primary and Secondary Education
  • Aukje de Vries: State Secretary Surcharges and Customs 
  • Eric van der Burg: State Secretary of Asylum and Migration 
  • Christophe van der Maat: State Secretary of Defence


  • Sigrid Kaag: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance 
  • Robbert Dijkgraaf: Minister of Education, Culture and Science 
  • Rob Jetten: Minister of Climate and Energy 
  • Ernst Kuipers: Minister of Public Health, Wellbeing and Sport 
  • Kajsa Ollongren: Minister of Defence 
  • Franc Weerwind: Minister for Legal Protection 
  • Gunay Uslu: State Secretary Culture and Media 
  • Alexandra van Huffelen: State Secretary Kingdom Relations and Digitalisation 
  • Hans Vijlbrief: State Secretary Mining 

ALDE Party acting co-President Ilhan Kyuchyuk (MRF, Bulgaria) and ALDE Party Vice President Luis Garicano MEP (Ciudadanos, Spain) shared their congratulations.

“With the goal to lay the foundation for the next generation the country is in safe liberal hands and I am sure it will play a key role in the European Union,” Kyuchyuk said.

“A really highly qualified and energetic new government,” Garicano summarised.

As a result of the new government coalition, ALDE Party MEP Liesje Schreinemacher (VVD) will resign from the European Parliament to become Minister of International Trade and Development Cooperation. She will be replaced by Catharina Rinzema.

Photo credit: Renew Europe

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies