05 May, 2021

ALDE statement on Russia entry ban

The ALDE Party Bureau today released the following statement on Russia’s latest entry ban for eight high level European officials.

The ALDE Party strongly condemns Russia’s decision to ban entry for eight leading European politicians and Member State officials, including European Commission Vice President Věra Jourová and President of the ALDE group in the Council of Europe parliamentary assembly, Jacques Maire.

The late ALDE Party President Hans van Baalen was already denied entry into Russia in 2015. This latest extension of entry bans on European liberal policymakers who fight the brave fight for freedom and democracy across the globe, including in Russia, will not deter us. Europe’s liberals will continue to stand up for freedom and speak the truth to those who seek to repress our fundamental democratic and human rights.

We call on the European Commission and the Member States within the European Council to prepare a comprehensive response to demonstrate to the Russian regime once and for all that Europe stands united and that we will not bow to bullying tactics.


Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies