19 Jun, 2020

Armenian National Congress

Party Leader: Levon Ter-Petrosyan


Armenian National Congress, previously Armenian National Movement, has led the nation-wide democratic movement in Armenia since 1988 and was the first liberal-democratic force in the Soviet Union to depose Communists through parliamentary elections in 1990. The party led Armenia to independence in 1991, and conducted sweeping liberal reforms of privatization and democratization. Under the party’s leader and First President, Levon Ter-Petrosyan’s rule, a cease-fire was reached in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

Armenian National Congress stands for the continuation of liberal-democratic reforms to boost civil liberties, human rights and competition, both in economic and political systems, building technology-based socio-economic progress and peacefully settling conflicts with all neighbours.

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies