01 Jun, 2021

Centralists return to Parliament in Cyprus as DEPA wins 4 seats in elections

Voters in Cyprus went to the polls on Sunday 30 May in parliamentary elections and ALDE Party member party Democratic Alignment (DEPA) won 6.1% of the vote to successfully cross the electoral threshold and will have four seats in the next Parliament.

Party leader Marios Garoyian will serve as an MP in the Limassol constituency, along with colleagues Alekos Tryfonides and Marinos Mousiouttas elected in Nicosia and Michalis Yiakoumi in Famagusta.

Welcoming the results, Mr Garoyian said the results proves the value of the party to address the need to revitalise the center in Cypriot politics, adding that "we faced systemic forces and emerged victorious” and that the party will work to turn abstention into a creative change in Cyprus.

According to the official results, the ruling conservative ruling party DISY retained is position as the largest party in the parliament but lost seats as did the other large party opposition AKEL. DIKO retains 9 seats, the Greens gained one seat to three, EDEK from three to four, and nationalist ELAM doubled its representation from two to four seats.

A record 658 candidates from 15 parties were vying for election to the 56 seats in the 80-seat parliament. 30% of seats are allocated to the Turkish Cypriot community, but these have been vacant since 1963. Turnout was 63.9%, down from 66.7% in 2016 and a new low

Watch a statement by Marios Garoyian 

Photo credit: Statement by the President of the Democratic Party, Mr. Marios Karoyan, after the election result. DEPA Website, 2021. 

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies