09 Jul, 2019

Charanzová and Beer elected as EP Vice-Presidents

On 3 July in Strasbourg, Members of the European Parliament elected Renew Europe MEPs Dita Charanzová, Vice-President of ALDE Party (ANO, Czech Republic) and Nicola Beer, Team Europe member (FDP, Germany) as new Vice-Presidents. The news came just one day after the appointment of Charles Michel as the new President of the European Council and the nomination of Margrethe Vestager as Vice-President of the European Commission.

Dita Charanzová MEP commented her election:

"It is an honour to be elected today as Vice-President. I think it is a tribute to the hard work of the last five years on the digital agenda and consumer rights. I also see it as a confirmation that my fellow members believe I can bring this same commitment for the years ahead."

Nicola Beer MEP said after the vote:

"I am very grateful for the support. Let’s face the challenge of modernising Europe together so that the European idea will shine again. As Vice-President, I promise to strengthen the role of the European Parliament and bring it closer to the citizens."



Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies