Programme Day 2


Saturday 12 June 2021


Online login possible
Technical explanation video

09:30 – 10:50

Economic Recovery: Responsible and smart spending

Opening of session by moderator

Opening remarks by Mark Rutte, Prime Minister of the Netherlands 


  • Kadri Simson, European Commissioner for Energy
  • Eva De Bleeker, Belgian State secretary for Budget & Consumer 
  • Luis Garicano, MEP and ALDE Party Vice President
  • Morten Løkkegaard MEP
  • Nicola Beer MEP
  • Stéphane Séjourné, MEP

Closing speech by Micheál Martin, Taoiseach of Ireland

Moderated by Rogier Elshoutand Beatriz Rios, Moderating EU

10:50 - 11:00


11:00 – 12:30

Strengthening our democracies and reinstating our freedoms

Opening of session by moderator and introduction of keynote speakers

Keynote speeches:  

Alexander De Croo, Prime Minister of Belgium 

Věra Jourová, Vice President of the European Commission

Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister of Luxembourg



  • Evelina Dobrovolska, Minister of Justice, Lithuania
  • Alexandru Dimitriu, Secretary of State, Romanian Ministry of Justice
  • Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Member of the German Bundestag and ALDE Party Vice President
  • Katalin Cseh, MEP
  • Sophie in ‘t Veld, MEP

Closing remarks by Didier Reynders, European Commissioner for Justice

Moderated by Rogier Elshout and Beatriz Rios, Moderating EU


Online electoral booths close for Bureau elections

12:30 – 13:30


13:30 - 14:30

Voting on the resolutions

14:30 – 15:00

Closing session and Announcement of Bureau results


Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies