04 Jun, 2022

European liberals elect new leadership at ALDE Congress

Results are in! The ALDE Party Congress delegates have elected the team that will lead liberals to the European elections of 2024.  

The Congress has voted to renew the co-presidency of Ilhan Kyuchyuk MEP (MRF, Bulgaria) and Senator Timmy Dooley (Fianna Fáil, Ireland).  

In his acceptance speech Kyuchyuk declared “We want to thank you for your vote of confidence. Part of what makes the ALDE family so great is how we always put our differences aside and manage focus on what matters. This is why we deliver. If the last two years have taught us anything is that we cannot take anything for granted: our democracy, our freedom, our way of life. We have to defend it. That is the spirit of ALDE. And that spirit, it moves forward because of you. It moves forward because after two years of incredible difficulty, have prevailed. Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you in Stockholm next year. 

Thank you for the trust that you have placed on Ilhan and I to lead your party for the next two years. It is a burden of responsibility that we will hold dearly. We respect the commitment that you have shown to the party and to the leadership, and we will honour that commitment every day of the week, 24 hours, seven days a week. It is really important now that we unite our platform. Thank you for the open and frank discussions that you’ve had with us, both in public ad in private, during the past couple of days. We’ve listened and we will act. We will work with you to unite this great movement so that out total focus will be on every election in each of your countries, between now and in two years culminating in the European campaign,” added Dooley on his speech. 

Delegates also voted for five new Vice-Presidents: Deputy Mayor of the 2nd district of Budapest Dániel Berg (Momentum, Hungary), Baroness Sal Brinton (Liberal Democrats, United Kingdom), Svenja Hahn MEP (FDP, Germany), Holos Party Leader Kira Rudik (Holos, Ukraine), and Annelou van Egmond (D66, The Netherlands). 


During the closing ceremony of the Congress the first edition of the Hans van Baalen Medal Award was also celebrated. The first to receive this award was President Volodymyr Zelenskyy and his party, Sluha Narodu. 

Watch the full closing ceremony here or below.

Follow us on social media with #ALDECongress for more updates and highlights from this year's ALDE Congress! 

Check our Flickr page for photos from this year's Congress. 

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies