11 Feb, 2020

Fianna Fáil largest party but Ireland votes for change

Counting has concluded in Ireland following its general election held on Saturday 8 February. While Fianna Fáil finished with the largest number of seats in the next parliament, Ireland has voted for change with Sinn Féin and the Green party recording their biggest election results.

The 160 members of the Irish Parliament (Dáil Éireann) were elected by single transferable vote (STV) from 39 constituencies, each returning between three and five TDs.

Fianna Fáil, led by Micheál Martin TD, won a total of 38 seats in the election (including the seat of the speaker Ceann Comhairle who was automatically re-elected), ahead of Sinn Féin who won 37 seats (+14) and Fine Gael of outgoing Taoiseach Leo Varadkar falling to 35 seats (-15). The Green Party won 12 seats, and 19 Independent candidates won seats including the former ALDE Group MEP Marian Harkin.

Sinn Féin won the highest amount of first preference votes and almost all of its 42 candidates were elected. Nine of the 10 candidates who secured the most first-preference votes were from Sinn Féin.

ALDE Party Vice President Timmy Dooley unfortunately lost his seat in his constituency of Clare, as did the party’s Brexit Spokesperson Lisa Chambers in Mayo, and Malcolm Byrne in Wexford who makes history as the shortest-serving member of Parliament having won the seat in the November by-election and serving only eight parliamentary sitting days before the snap election was called.


80 seats are required for a majority in the parliament and so a minimum of three parties will now be required to form a majority coalition without abstentions.

A complete list of elected TDs can be found here.

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies