25 Jun, 2024

Hayer re-elected President of Renew Europe

On 25 June, Valérie Hayer MEP was re-elected as President of Renew Europe by acclamation at the group’s inaugural meeting in Brussels. 

Hayer (Renaissance, FR) has been leader of the Renew Europe group in the European Parliament since January, taking over from Stéphane Séjourné. 

She became the youngest-ever leader of the liberal and democrat family in the European Parliament, as well as the second woman to take up the role after Simone Veil between 1984-1989. 

Renew Europe is now formally constituted and will prioritise the negotiation of an ambitious pro-European programme for the next term of the Parliament and the incoming European Commission. 

MEPs adopted a Charter defining the group’s core principles as the most pro-European movement in European politics, with a focus on European defence and security, competitiveness, the defence of the rule of law, the protection of individual rights and the need to enhance European sovereignty. 

"With new members joining and an exciting team of Vice Presidents, Renew Europe sends a signal of strength and unity; this new horizon will bring a new dynamism to the pro-European coalition in Parliament,” said Hayer upon her election. 

“While campaigning for positive change and the advancement of rights, we will lead opposition to the plague of political and economic populism that is infecting European politics and show the power of European unity. The Europe of tomorrow cannot be built by economic or political populism." 

In a second meeting on 26 June, Renew Europe MEPs elected the remaining members of the Group Bureau, including:

First Vice-President:
Billy Kelleher (Fianna Fail, IE)

Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy (D66, NL)
João Cotrim de Figueiredo (Iniciativa Liberal, PT)
Irena Joveva (Gibanje Svoboda, SI)
Dan Barna (USR, RO)
Ivars Ijabs (Latvijas attīstībai, LV)
Morten Løkkegaard (Venstre, DK)
Anna - Maja Henriksson (SFP, FI)
Svenja Hahn (FDP, DE - for ALDE Party)
Sandro Gozi (Renaissance, FR - for EDP)

The first Plenary session of the tenth European Parliament mandate will take place on 15-18 July in Strasbourg, France. 

Photo: European Parliament 


Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies