30 Sep, 2020

Hilde Vautmans elected new European Liberal Forum President

Hilde Vautmans MEP was elected as the new President of the European Liberal Forum which convened virtually and physically in Rome for its General Assembly on Friday 25 September.

She succeeds Dr Jurgen Martens, a German member of the Bundestag, who served as President since 2016 and as Vice President since 2012. Speaking to delegates, he said: “The European Liberal Forum has grown exponentially in reach and impact throughout the past years. We have developed a European policy exchange platform; we have strengthened communications with members, and we work closer than ever with our political partners. Thank you for your cooperation and your engagement.”

ALDE Party President Hans van Baalen welcomed the news, tweeting:

In addition to the President, a new board was elected comprising: Svenja Hahn MEP as 1st Vice President, Dr Milosz Hodun as 2nd Vice President, Mats Löfström, Marco Mariani, Dr Šárka Prát, and Pieter Van de Stadt.

The European Liberal Forum is the official political foundation of the ALDE Party. Together with 46 member organisations, they work all over Europe to bring new ideas into the political debate, to provide a platform for discussion, and to empower citizens to make their voices heard.

Photo credit: European Parliament 2020

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies