03 Dec, 2018

LI elects first ever President from Africa

Ethan Arsht

Last weekend, Liberal International, the world federation of liberal political parties, met in Dakar, Senegal. With the Andorran Liberal Manifesto in hand, adopted in 2017, the global liberal family returned to Africa for their 62nd Congress.

On the agenda was Liberalism 4.0 - the future of Liberalism.

ALDE Party President Hans van Baalen MEP represented the European liberal family and presented the message that: “We want to win as liberals. Africa is the continent of hope and can inspire us. We will go forward together.”

From left to right: President Allassane Ouattara (Ivory Coast), President Macky Sall (Senegal), President Juli Minoves (Liberal International), myself (ALDE Party) and floor leader Mmusi Maimane (Democratic Alliance, South Africa) at #LI62Dakar #LI62Congress pic.twitter.com/NZHppjgnfq

@ALDEParty President, @hansvanbaalen welcomes delegates in Dakar...“we want to win as liberals... #Africa is the continent of hope... we will go forward together” #LI62Congress #LI62Dakar pic.twitter.com/wfGDgqn8ji

Furthermore, the global liberal family elected a new Bureau:

Unanimously, they elected Hakima El Haite as the new Liberal International President. Mrs El Haite from Morocco is the second woman President in the history of Liberal International - following in the footsteps of Mrs. Annemie Neyts-Uyttebroeck - and the first-ever President from the African continent.

At our 62nd congress in #Dakar, Liberals from around the world unanimously elected our first-ever president from #Africa - join us in congratulating #Morocco’s @hakelhaite as the 14th president of Liberal International #LI62Dakar pic.twitter.com/VFp2Zl2fus

In addition, the following persons were elected:

LI deputy president:

Karl-Heinz Paqué (FDP, Germany)

LI vice-presidents:

Cellou Dalein Diallo (UFDG, Guinea)

Kitty Monterrey (CxL, Nicaragua)

Abir al-Sahlani (Centerpartiet, Sweden)

Kiat Sittheamorn (DP, Thailand)

Astrid Thors (SFP, Finland)

Robert Woodthorpe Browne (LIBG, UK)

LI treasurers:

Judith Pallares (L’A, Andorra)

Omar Youm (ADF, Burkina Faso)

Finally, the Liberal International has appointed Dr Juli Minoves as president of honour, recognising his sustained commitment to liberalism over the past decades and most recently as President of Liberal International.

The global #liberal family has appointed @LiberalsAndorra's Dr @JuliMinoves as president of honour, recognising his sustained commitment to #liberalism over past decades and most recently as president of Liberal International.

Felicitacions, Juli. #LI62Dakar pic.twitter.com/x4vvsBge61

More information is available on the website of Liberal International.

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies