24 Jun, 2020


Party Leader: Johan Pehrson


Liberalerna ("Liberals") has a long-standing tradition as a Swedish liberal party fighting for equal opportunities for its citizens. The party was formed in 1934 under the name Folkpartiet by a merger of the parliamentary parties, the Swedish Liberal Party and the Frisinnade folkpartiet and was called the "People’s Party". From 1990, the party was called the Liberal People's Party and in 2015 the official name Liberalerna was adopted.

After the 2022 Swedish general election, Liberalerna agreed to form a coalition government with the Christian DemocratsModerate Party and Sweden Democrats as part of the Tidö Agreement. Johan Pehrson, also the Swedish Minister for Employment and for Integration, serves as party leader since April 2022. 

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies