18 Oct, 2019

Liberals re-elected to government in Gibraltar

The Liberal Party of Gibraltar has been re-elected to a third term in government with its coalition partner in the general election held on 17 October.

The GSLP/Liberals coalition won 52.5% of the vote, finishing 27 points ahead of their nearest rivals.

The Leader of Gibraltar’s Liberals Dr Joseph Garcia, who has served as Deputy Chief Minister from 2011, polled second in the election with 9,672 votes.

There will be three Liberal Ministers in the new 10-strong Government led by Chief Minister Fabian Picardo.

Steven Linares who served as Minister for Culture, Heritage, Youth and Sport and new MP Vijay Daryanani, the first ever MP and Minister from Gibraltar’s Hindu community.

Turnout was 70.84%.

The Liberal Party of Gibraltar has been an affiliate member of the ALDE Party since 2015.

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies