14 Jun, 2022

Luxembourg’s liberals elect new leadership ahead of 2023 electoral year

The national Congress of Luxembourg’s Demokratesch Partei (DP) elected the new party leadership on 12 June at Centre Atert in Bertrange. The high support manifested by the party’s delegates – new DP president Lex Delles received 98,95%, while new secretary general Carole Hartmann 97,91% of votes – has confirmed DP’s solid standing on Luxembourg’s political scene. Since 2013, DP has constituted part of the coalition government led by Prime Minister and member of Demokratesch Partei Xavier Bettel.

The Party’s leadership will also consist of Max Hahn as first Vice-President as well as Marc Hansen and Claude Lamberty as second Vice-Presidents. Myriam Feyder has been appointed treasurer.

Xavier Bettel who attended the Congress expressed his optimism for the party under the new leadership.

The Congress was an opportunity to thank the outgoing president of the party Corinne Cahen who has stepped down after 7 successful years marked by the modernization of the party ahead of upcoming parliamentary and local elections in 2023.

Photo credit: Demokratesch Partei

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies