05 Apr, 2022

Ministers meet ahead of ECOFIN Council with focus on harder sanctions against Russia

The ALDE Party and Renew Europe Group in the European Parliament hosted the 6th meeting of liberal ministers responsible for economics and finances ahead of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council on 5 April 2022. The meeting was chaired by Luis Garicano MEP and ALDE Party Vice-President in Luxembourg.

The participants discussed and shared views on the items on the ECOFIN Council agenda, such as hardening of sanctions against Russia, the OECD corporate income tax agreement and the SPA/NL agreement on Euro governance.

List of participants:

  • Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Minister of Finance (Reform Party, Estonia)
  • Maria Kausa Aula, State Secretary in the Ministry of Finance (Centre Party, Finland)
  • Christian Lindner, Minister of Finance (FDP, Germany)
  • Yuriko Backes, Minister of Finance (Democratic Party, Luxembourg)
  • Werner Hoyer, President of the European Investment Bank (FDP, Germany)
  • Luis Garicano MEP, Renew Europe Group and ALDE Party Vice-President (Ciudadanos, Spain)
  • Billy Kelleher MEP, Renew Europe Group (Fianna Fรกil, Ireland) (online)

Excused Ministers:

  • Sigrid Kaag, Vice-Prime Minister and Minister of Finance (D66, Netherlands)
  • Bruno Le Maire, Minister of Economy and Finance (LREM, France)

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies