15 Dec, 2020

Mustafa Karadayi re-elected leader as MRF holds first online Congress

Mustafa Karadayi was re-elected leader of the Movement for Rights and Freedoms (MRF) as the party gathered virtually for its 10th Congress on 12 December under the slogan "Freedom, unity, togetherness".

The year 2020 marks 30 years since the formation of the party but due to the coronavirus the party had to organise its celebrations online and organised its branches into over 100 online gatherings to hold its first ever all-virtual congress.

Speaking during the Congress, Mr Karadayi described MRF as the "builders of democratic Bulgaria, a pillar of democracy and peace in the country, a bridge for tolerance in the Balkans and for reforms in Europe".

“We are a party that goes forward. We firmly believe that success is due to the efforts of each of us when we are united and walk the path together. We are the party that not only has the ambition to participate in the government, we know that we have the strength, will and capacity to work and make the lives of Bulgarian citizens better,he said.

The composition of the Central Council and the party programme were voted on during the conference. Bulgaria will hold Parliamentary elections on 28 March 2021.

In the public session of the Congress, speeches were made by numerous international guests and liberal partners including Hakima El Haite (President of Liberal International), Hans van Baalen (President of ALDE Party and President of Honour of Liberal International), Roman Jakic (President of LIBSEEN), François Decoster (President of Renew Europe in the European Committee of the Regions), Sean O'Curneen (Secretary General of Renew Europe in the European Committee of the Regions), Jacques Maire (President of ALDE-PACE), Sir Graham Watson (former President of ALDE Party and ALDE group in the European Parliament), Nikolay Rybakov (President of Yabloko Party) and Goran Milevski (President of LDP North Macedonia). Among others, greetings were received by the President of the Renew Europe Group in the European Parliament Dacian Cioloș and MRF Honorary President Ahmed Dogan.

You can rewatch the public session of the Congress below:

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies