Get to know the 2017 European Women's Academy participants | ALDE Party

Get to know the 2017 European Women's Academy participants

European Women's Academy 2016 class

Last year in the ALDE Party's continuous efforts to empower female politicians, the ALDE Party in cooperation with the Friedrich Naumann Foundation and the European Liberal Forum launched the European Women’s Academy of political leadership and campaigning. 

After a successful graduation of the class of 2016 European Women's Academy, it is time for a new group of women to undertake the training for the 2017 class. This week, from 9 to 12 February, a new round of Liberal female politicians will meet in Tallinn, Estonia, for the first session of the 2017 European Women's Academy.

The goal of this academy is to provide a training programme for women to have an immediate result in the upcoming elections.

The group consists of 15 participants from across Europe with elections on various levels in the near future. The focus of this first session will  be on leadership and strategy and will count on ALDE Party Vice President Angelika Mlinar MEP as motivational speaker.

The female politicians elected for the 2017 European Women's Academy are: 

  • Anna Vetter (NEOS, Austria)
  • Assita Kanko (MR, Belgium)
  • Eva de Bleeker (Open Vld, Belgium)
  • Darina Kovacova (ANO, Czech Republic)
  • Latifa Ljørring (Venstre, Denmark)
  • Karin Friis Bach (Radikale Venstre, Denmark)
  • Heidy Purga (Reform Party, Estonia)
  • Tamar Kekenadze (Free Democrats, Georgia)
  • Beret Roots (FDP, Germany)
  • Claire O’Connor (Fianna Fail, Ireland)
  • Sabine Koebrugge (VVD, The Netherlands)
  • Solveig Schytz (Venstre, Norway)
  • Ksenija Flegar (SMC, Slovenia)
  • Madelaine Jakobsson (Centerpartiet, Sweden)


Stay tuned via our Facebook and Twitter in the upcoming days for more updates on the first session!