LibDems increase their seats by 50% in UK General Election | ALDE Party

LibDems increase their seats by 50% in UK General Election

Tim Farron MP

On 8 June the United Kingdom held snap general elections. While Prime Minister Theresa May hoped to increase the Conservatives’ majority to strengthen Brexit negotiations, the results were not as expected with the Tories losing their majority in the Parliament. Commenting on the outcome of the UK elections, ALDE Party President Hans van Baalen MEP said: “Theresa May gambled and lost, and her mandate for an extreme version of Brexit has been rejected by the British electorate. As the start of Brexit negotiations approaches, the EU remains united and ready to negotiate. but the UK finds itself divided.”

For Liberals, the result was much improved from the 2015 election result, as the UK Liberal Democrats won 50% more seats and returned a group of 12 MPs to Parliament. The Liberal Democrat Group in the UK Parliament now includes a third of female MPs. 

The 12 LibDems MPs are:

  • Tom Brake, Carshalton
  • Vince Cable, Twickenham
  • Alistair Carmichael, Orkney and Shetland
  • Edward Davey, Kingston and Surbiton
  • Tim Farron, Westmorland and Lonsdale
  • Wera Hobhouse, Bath
  • Christine Jardine, Edinburgh West
  • Norman Lamb, North Norfolk
  • Stephen Lloyd, Eastbourne
  • Layla Moran, Oxford West and Abingdon
  • Jamie Stone, Caithness
  • Jo Swinson, Dunbartonshire East

Commenting on the Liberal Democrats performance, ALDE Party President Hans van Baalen MEP said: "I would like to congratulate the Liberal Democrats under the leadership of Tim Farron MP on their encouraging election performance, increasing their seats by 50% in the next Parliament and making significant gains in Scotland.”

“More than ever, Britain needs pro-European Liberal voices in the next Parliament standing up for the UK’s place in Europe, for civil liberties, for human rights and for an open, tolerant and united Britain, and an enlarged Liberal Democrat group will serve this purpose. The ALDE Party looks forward to continuing its engagement with the Liberal Democrats in these aims.”

“I am extremely sorry to learn that Nick Clegg has lost his seat after 12 years of loyal service to his constituents of Sheffield Hallam. He served his country and his party with tremendous and admirable skill, resolve and dignity, both as Liberal Democrat party leader and as Deputy Prime Minister. Leading the party into coalition in 2010, he helped to bring stability at a time of economic crisis and has a proud legacy of liberal achievements during the party’s time in government. It has been an honour to work with him, and I hope he will remain active in liberal politics both in Britain and in Europe through the ALDE Party.”

ALDE Party Vice President Ros Scott, who served as President of the Liberal Democrats from 2009-2011, commented: "We fought a strong campaign which highlighted the dangers of Theresa May's hard Brexit strategy - damaging for jobs, for our public services and for our security. This result shows that the British people are rejecting that Tory vision and that the new Government must rethink.”

“In Parliament, LibDems will fight every day to make sure Britain gets the best possible deal in the years ahead and to ensure that the people can choose for themselves whether the deal on offer is better than what we have now.”

“I believe that history will judge us to have stood on the right side of the argument on Europe.  I'd like to thank all my ALDE colleagues for their support for the Liberal Democrats, and look forward to working with you to build a Europe which is open, tolerant and united.”

You can watch the response of the LibDems leader Tim Farron to the elections' result here:

Do you want to take action? Sign up HERE if you also think that the new government must rethink as the UK electorate rejected the Tory vision for a hard Brexit.