Liberal Agriculture Ministers agree on CAP reforms after 2020 | ALDE Party

Liberal Agriculture Ministers agree on CAP reforms after 2020

Liberal Agriculture Ministers during Pre-Council meeting

On 6 March, the ALDE Party hosted its first AGRIFISH Pre-Council meeting of 2017 by bringing together liberal Agriculture Ministers ahead of the Council of the European Union’s AGRIFISH Council.

The meeting was chaired by Ros Scott, ALDE Party Vice President and was co-hosted with Fernand Etgen, Luxembourg’s Minister of Agriculture, Viticulture & Consumer Protection.

The ministers had an in-depth discussion on reforming the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) after 2020 which they agreed on the need for simplification.

Liberal Agriculture Ministers also agreed that the CAP should focus more on innovation and research and development. 

List of participants

Willy Borsus, Minister of the Middle Class, Self-Employed, SMEs, Agriculture & Social Integration, Belgium

Mouvement Réformateur

Hilde Vautmans MEP, ALDE Group, Belgium

Open Vld

Tarmo Tamm, Minister of Rural Affairs, Estonia

Centre Party

Risto Lahti, Cabinet Advisor to Kimmo Tiilikainen, Minister of Agriculture & the Environment, Finland


Kari Valonen, Head of EU Coordination at Ministry of Agriculture & Forestry, Finland


Fernand Etgen, Minister of Agriculture, Viticulture & Consumer Protection, Luxembourg

Demokratesch Partei

Baroness Ros Scott, ALDE Party Vice President

Liberal Democrats