Venstre re-enters the Norwegian Parliament | ALDE Party

Venstre re-enters the Norwegian Parliament

Venstre party leader Trine Skei Grande casting her vote

Norwegian citizens went to the polls on Monday 11 September to elect the new members of the Storting, the Norwegian Parliament. ALDE member party in Norway Venstre obtained 4.3% of the vote, overcoming the 4% threshold to enter the Parliament. The Liberal party will have 8 Members of the Parliament (MP) in the new Storting.

Venstre increased its share of voters in the constitutencies of Finnmark (+0.6), Oslo (+0.2) and Akershus (+0.1).

Our 2017 European Women’s Academy candidate Solveig Schytz has been elected as deputy member of the Parliament for the constituency of Akershus, where Venstre’s voters increased.

The conservative party, led by current Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg, emerged as first force obtaining 89 MPs and falling short of a majority by 5 MPs. The Labour party shortly followed with 80 elected MPs. Therefore, a coalition will be needed to form the next Norwegian government.

You can see an overview of the election results as well as details of the outcome in each constituency on Norway’s public broadcast NRK’s website.