Liberal responsabilities in the new 2014-2019 European Commission | ALDE Party

If this message is not displaying properly, please click here

ALDE Party press release

Following the official announcement by President- elect Jean-Claude Juncker of the allocation of portfolios of the new 2014-2019 European Commission and a telephonic meeting with European Liberal Democrat Prime Ministers, the President of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) Party Sir Graham Watson said:”

I am delighted that once again Liberals have been recognised as an important, positive driving force and have been given two Vice Presidencies in the European Commission and some key portfolios to manage over the course of the next five years.

I am pleased that liberals have been recognised as the family of expertise in civil liberties, gender equality and the digital agenda. The awarding of these portfolios again to our extremely able candidates will ensure that Liberals will continue to contribute strongly and positively to the European cause.”

Liberal portfolios in the new Commission will be:

  • Andrus Ansip – Vice President, Digital Single Market
  • Alenka Bratušek, Vice President, Energy Union
  • Cecilia Malmström – Trade
  • Margrethe Vestager – Competition
  • Věra Jourová – Justice, Consumers & Gender Equality

ALDE Party press release FlickrTwitter Facebook Twitter ALDE Party Website