20 May, 2019

Success of EU liberals in Bosnia Herzegovina praised

On Saturday 18 May in Sarajevo, ALDE Party member party Nasa Stranka held its fourth electoral Congress where the party celebrated its achievements over the past four years and re-elected leader Predrag Kojović to a new four-year term.

ALDE Party President Hans van Baalen attended the Congress and delivered a keynote speech to delegates. He praised the development of Nasa Stranka under the leadership of Kojović during which the party has seen consecutive successful local elections as well as federal elections, increasing the number of NS representatives at all levels of government in the county. He concluded by noting that he was proud Nasa Stranka is a member of ALDE and looked forward to many years of future cooperation.

Delegates at the Congress adopted amendments to the party’s constitution, and elected members to the General and Supervisory boards, Court of Honour and the party’s Presidency.

Predrag Kojović was re-elected leader of the party, securing 90 votes against 59 for Damir Marjanovic.

Irma Baralija, Mirsad Čamdžić and Srđan Mandić where elected as Vice-Presidents.

In his speech to delegates, Kojović presented the party’s development over the past four years noting it was the “fastest growing political organisation in Bosnia Herzegovina” and stated that “no important decision in the state will be made without the vote of Nasa Stranka”.

Following the recent local and national elections, Nasa Stranka are the largest coalition partner in the Canton of Sarajevo and hold the Prime Minister post through Edin Forto. They have increased their number of councillors nationwide by 100% from the past election, increased their number of seats in the Federation Parliament by 300% and even won two seats in the Parliamentary Assembly of Bosnia Herzegovina.

“I am proud of all that we have achieved in transforming our party from a small and local party into one of the strongest parties in Bosnia Herzegovina,” he said.

The Congress was also attended by international guests from ALDE member parties from Netherlands, Sweden and Croatia, as well as the Chairman of LIBSEEN. Catherine Isaksson, general secretary of the Centerpartiet’s International Foundation, was awarded an honorary membership of Nasa Stranka as a tribute to the years of engagement and support to the party.

Read an interview with the ALDE Party President Hans Van Baalen here.




Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies