24 Feb, 2022

ALDE Vice Presidents of the European Parliament secure key portfolios

During the January 2022 plenary session of the European Parliament in Strasbourg, MEPs elected their new President and 14 Vice Presidents that will serve until the next European elections in 2024.

Three ALDE Party-affiliated MEPs won election as Vice President, and they will hold the following portfolios:

ALDE Party Vice President Dita Charanzova (ANO, Czech Republic) was re-elected Vice President, and her responsibilities include cybersecurity including in relation to the integrity of European elections, relations with national Parliaments, relations with French, Belgium, Luxembourg authorities concerning the seat and places of work, and replacing the President for North America and for Latin America.

Nicola Beer (FDP, Germany) was also re-elected as a Vice President and her responsibilities include Implementation of the Conference on the Future of Europe’s conclusions on Bureau related matters, Conciliations, Multilingualism, special envoy on combatting religious discrimination including Antisemitism, and replacing the President for Asia and Oceania.

Michal Simecka (Progresívne Slovensko, Slovakia) became the first Slovak to be elected to the European Parliament Presidency and subsequently became the first to Chair a session of the Parliament in Slovak. His responsibilities as a Vice President include human rights and democracy, being a member of the high-level group on gender equality and diversity, the Members’ research service and library (EPRS), the House of European History, and replacing the President for the Baltic/Nordic/Arctic countries.

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies