11 Oct, 2021

Yabloko member Dmitry Muratov wins 2021 Nobel Peace Prize

On 8 October, the Nobel committee awarded the prestigious Nobel Peace Prize to Dmitry Muratov, the editor-in-chief of Novaya Gazeta and member of ALDE Party member party in Russia Yabloko, and to Maria Ressa, founder, CEO and executive editor of Rappler, an online news outlet in the Philippines, for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression.

Muratov’s Novaya Gazeta is renowned for in-depth exposes of power abuses, human rights abuses and corruption under the Russian regime. The newspaper was praised by the Nobel Committee for its coverage of police violence, unlawful arrests, electoral fraud and “troll factories” as well as the use of Russian military forces both within and outside Russia, among other topics. Despite being faced with harassment, threats and violence, six of Novaya’s Gazeta journalist have been killed for doing their job, this editor in chief has refused to give in the newspaper independent policy.

The Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded to Ressa and Muratov at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway on 10 December.

© REUTERS/Evgeny Feldman

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies