17 Nov, 2023

Liberal ministers take office in Luxembourg

Following parliamentary elections in Luxembourg last month, ALDE Party member Demokratesch Partei (DP) agreed to enter into a coalition government with seven out of 15 ministers. 

The new government was sworn in on 17 November, with outgoing Prime Minister Xavier Bettel taking up the Deputy-Prime Minister, Foreign Affairs, Trade and Greater Region portfolio. 

Five DP ministers retained a role in the new cabinet, including party leader Lex Delles, while two new ministers were appointed: Stéphanie Obertin (Digitalisation and Research) and Eric Thill (Culture). 

The full list of ministers: 

  • Xavier Bettel - Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Foreign and European Affairs, Cooperation, Trade and the Greater Region
  • Yuriko Backes – Minister for Defence, Gender Equality and Diversity, Mobility and Public Works
  • Lex Delles – Minister for Economy, SMEs, Energy and Tourism
  • Max Hahn – Minister for Family Affairs, Solidarity and Immigration
  • Claude Meisch – Minister for Education, Childhood and Youth, Housing and Territorial Development
  • Stéphanie Obertin – Minister for Digitalisation, Research and Higher Education
  • Eric Thill – Minister for Culture, Minister Delegate for Tourism

At the elections on 8 October, DP received 18.7% of the popular vote and strengthened their representation in the Chamber of Deputies by winning an additional two seats, bringing their total number of MPs up to 14. 

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies