07 Dec, 2021

Ministers meet ahead of ECOFIN Council

The ALDE Party and the Renew Europe Group hosted the 3rd meeting of liberal ministers responsible for economics and financial affairs ahead of the Council meeting on 7 December. The meeting was chaired by ALDE Party Vice-President Luis Garicano MEP and was also attended by Werner Hoyer, President of the European Investment Bank.

The participants discussed and shared views on the items on the Council agenda, with a specific focus on the measures to strengthen the banking union as well as the package to counter money laundering and the financing of terrorism, which was presented by the European Commission in July 2021.

List of participants:

  • Werner Hoyer, President of the European Investment Bank (FDP, Germany)
  • Maria Kaisa Aula, State Secretary in the Ministry of Finance (Centre Party, Finland)
  • Luis Garicano MEP, Renew Europe Vice-President, ALDE Party Vice-President (Ciudadanos, Spain)
  • Stéphanie Yon-Courtin MEP (LREM, France)

Excused Ministers:

  • Alena Schillerová, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance (ANO, Czech Republic)
  • Pierre Gramegna, Minister of Finance (Democratic Party, Luxembourg)
  • Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Minister of Finance (Reform Party, Estonia)

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies