17 Oct, 2022

New government voted on in Sweden

On 17 October, the ‘Riksdag’ (Swedish Parliament) voted in favour of a new Swedish government following the general elections on 11 September.

Ulf Kristersson of the party Moderaterna (EPP) takes office as Prime Minister, leading a coalition government with Moderaterna, Kristdemokraterna and Liberalerna. 176 Riksdag members voted in favour of the coalition.

The coalition agreement, called the ‘Tidöavtalet’, outlines seven major cooperation projects: economic growth and households, crime, migration and integration, climate and energy, healthcare, school and education and democracy and culture.

Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies