23 Jan, 2018

Rik Daems re-elected as ALDE-PACE President

On 22 January, the members of the ALDE Group at the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (ALDE-PACE) re-elected Rik Daems as their President.

While accepting the office, Rik Daems declared: "In several countries liberty and democracy are under pressure from populists and authoritarian regimes. ALDE is the pre-eminent progressive force that fights for human rights, individual freedom and liberal democracy, and the Council of Europe is the frontline. We shall make our work in Strasbourg matter in our national parliaments. We shall promote the values of the Council of Europe in our countries, but we shall also make the voice of liberal parliamentarians louder in this Assembly."

On the same day, five new members joined the ALDE-PACE Bureau: Eerik Kross (Reform Party, Estonia), Michael Georg Link (FDP, Germany), Melisa Rodríguez (Ciudadanos, Spain), Mart van de Ven (VVD, the Netherlands) and Sylvain Waserman (MoDem, France).

Another ALDE member, Doris Fiala (FDP, Switzerland), has been elected Chairperson of the Parliamentary Assembly’s Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons for a two-year mandate.


Cookies on ALDE

ALDE uses functional and performance cookies that are necessary for the websites to function as well as possible. These cookies do not use any personal data and no permission is required for this. We also use marketing cookies to tailor the website to your preferences. You can give permission for this below. You can always change your settings on the Privacy Statement page in the cookies section.

Adjust preference
Accept all cookies